Yardwork in June

June 18, 2010

So we decided this year that we were finally going to clean up our yard and make it nice.  I think this picture of our Welcome mat just sums up the overall feeling of our yard….

We’ll being as intelligent as we are we decided to start this week, the hottest week of the year thus far.  We both spent all Monday evening raking out flower beds and pulling up all the dead plants.  Which sounds easy but there were a good number of dead plants and not to mention the beds were still full of leaves from last winter…  I don’t think I’ve sweated that much in a while!  It was long overdue but we did it anyway.  Good news is my wife was ready…matching and all…

Unfortunately that was only step one out of like 20….  The next day I spent the evening moving a truckload of boulders that were about 50 to 70 pounds a piece, I count that as my workout for the month, but I got it done.  I do believe I would have made Tony Horton proud if only he could have seen me, of course he would have told me to move twice the amount of rocks and to do it while doing push-ups…  Anyway that I suppose was step 2.  I also spent about an hour digging up monkey grass that has been there for probably 30 years.  It was pretty tough to get up, and then I find out from my grandparents, who are expert gardeners, that black widows like to stay in monkey grass.  I didn’t even know Black Widows lived in Mississippi!  Always encouraging.  Anyway I survived and still have a good bit left to pull. By good bit I mean most of it. On to the fun part, I thought….  As many of you know my wife, shes not always the best at making decisions, and that didn’t change when we went to buy new plants.  I had all these grand plans of walking out of Lowes with a truckload of plants, sod, potting soil, and flowers, but all we managed to buy were three shrubs.  In Jess’ defense there are three million colors, shapes, and sizes of flowers to pick, so instead of picking up a lot of them, we decided to pass on all of them.    So as you can see in the pics below thats about were we stand, and thanks to the rain tonight thats where we will stay until this weekend.

Side view of the house…  you can see the few shrubs we purchased still in the bins….  Unfortunately you can also see the wildly overgrown plant as well as the several dying plants…

Close up of our dying, but SOON-TO-BE living Azalea bushes!

More mud and more space to fill up!  Also note the large amount of Random Monkey Grass that the previous owner left for me.  Thank you Mrs. Bebe

Guess what….More Monkey Grass

So pretty much its a work in progress, but we are getting there slowly but surely.  I’ll be sure to put some finished pics up when were done so everyone can say man you guys are such green thumbs!  Feel free to leave us any planting tips or gardening tips!

-Jordan

One Response to “Yardwork in June”

  1. Erin said

    this made me laugh…a lot. love it. I myself don’t have any gardening tips, but HELLO, jessica you should facebook my mom. Just ask her some good plants to get. Love you guys!

Leave a comment